Skip to content

West Shore voters hit the polls to choose next councils, school board trustees

Polls in Colwood, Langford, Metchosin, View Royal, and Highlands are open until 8 p.m.

It’s election day on the West Shore with polls open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. in Colwood, Langford, Metchosin, View Royal, and Highlands.

At Colwood City Hall, a constant stream of voters has been arriving since the polling station opened at 8 a.m. Getting closer to noon, a line started to form that stretched outside the building, but it continued to move quickly, meaning wait times are short.

Marcy Lalande, chief election officer for Colwood, said the process has been going smoothly so far.

“We’ve had a good turnout so far, so I’m quite happy, we had a good turnout for the advance polls as well, and the kids’ election seems to be going really, really good,” said Lalande. “That’s one thing we are hoping, that the kids will drag their parents down here to come out and vote themselves … we are trying for a better turnout than 2018.”

Lalande said the city is running the kids’ election for the first time this year. That election allows anyone under 18 to vote using the same format of voter cards and even an electronic counting machine as the official vote, but instead of choosing the next council and school trustees, young voters are choosing which play feature they would like to see built in the community under the city’s Parks and Recreation Master Plan.

“They get to choose either to get a spray feature at Colwood Creek Park or to get a nature feature at Ocean View Park,” said Lalande. “We are hoping if kids get down here, they are going to learn about the voting process, encourage their parents to come down here, and maybe increase the vote.”

As of around 11 a.m., more than 100 kids had cast their votes, including some who had voted along with their parents at advance polls. While the kids’ election is not official through Elections BC, Lalande said the results will guide the city’s decision on which feature to invest in.

While those participating in the kids’ election are likely to be casting a ballot for the first time, many in line to vote in the municipal election were far more seasoned, having made efforts to vote at every opportunity presented to them.

“We vote in every election, municipal, provincial, federal,” said Neil Robb. “It’s the only time you get to say to people ‘we don’t like you, or we want to change you, or we do like you.’”

Robb and his wife Barb said development and densification were key issues for them when considering who to lend their support to on the ballot. They said they feel there is a need to elect a council in Colwood which will manage development through the lens of the Official Community Plan, and give more thought to where in the city higher density construction will take place.

On the ballot for Colwood, Doug Kobayashi is challenging Rob Martin in the mayoral race with 10 candidates running for six councillor positions. Those candidates include Cynthia Day, David Grove, Dean Jantzen, Kim Jordison, Steven MacAskill, Kim Mohns, Misty Olsen, Stewart Parkinson, Sacha Veelbehr and Ian Ward.

READ MORE: Meet Your Candidates: Colwood hopefuls share their visions

Polls are open to Colwood residents at city hall, 3300 Wishart Rd., from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.

For more information on how to vote, click here.

In Langford, Scott Goodmanson is challenging Stew Young for the mayor’s seat while there are 14 candidates looking to fill the six councillor positions. Those candidates include Shirley Ackland, Denise Blackwell, Kimberley Guiry, Colby Harder, Wendy Hobbs, Mark Morley, Shannon Russell Willing, Matt Sahlstrom, Lanny Seaton, Norma Stewart, Lillian Szpak, Roger Wade, Mary Wagner and Keith Yacucha.

Langford resident Jeff Morrow has lived in Langford for 33 years and has voted in every single municipal election. He has his own role in Langford’s electoral history, as he was co-campaign chief for Langford’s first mayor James London.

“I think it’s going to be a watershed moment for Langford,” said Morrow, noting a number of residents are unhappy about the pace of development in the city.

Two of those residents are Kam and Devin Finch who moved to Langford four years ago and voted in the last municipal election but felt there wasn’t much to choose between the candidates. Since then they’ve had two kids and bought a house. Schools and making sure infrastructure keeps pace with development was front of mind for them.

“We moved to Langford for a specific reason. We just felt like those reasons were not being maintained anymore. It’s no longer the Langford that we decided we want to move into.”

Polls are open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. at three locations in Langford. They include Ruth King Elementary School (2764 Jacklin Rd.), Millstream Elementary School (626 Hoylake Ave.) and Happy Valley Elementary School (3291 Happy Valley Rd.).

READ MORE: Meet Your Candidates: 14 candidates vying for 6 Langford councillor seats

READ MORE: Langford candidates address the issues at forum

In the Town of View Royal, Sid Tobias is challenging David Screech in the mayoral race with seven candidates running for six councillor positions. Those candidates include Don Brown, Judy Estrin, Damian Kowalewich, Gery Lemon, Alison MacKenzie, Ron Mattson and John Rogers.

The Town of View Royal has two locations open to voters – View Royal Elementary School (218 Helmcken Rd.) and Eagle View Elementary School (97 Talcott Rd.).

READ MORE: Meet Your Candidates: View Royal candidates talk priorities

In the District of Metchosin, Kyara Kahakauwila and Marie-Terese Little are in the race to fill the chair that will be vacated by Mayor John Ranns, who opted not to run after serving eight terms as mayor. There are eight candidates in the running for four councillor seats including Mark Atherton, Tamara Ballard, Shelly Donaldson, Sharie Epp, Steve Gray, Jay Shukin, Eric White and Leslie Zinger.

The Metchosin Community Hall, 4401 William Head Rd., is open to voters from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.

READ MORE: Meet Your Candidates: Metchosin candidates talk priorities

Highlands Mayor Ken Williams will be acclaimed as he ran unopposed. That leaves six councillor seats to be claimed with nine candidates running including Leslie Anderson, Ann Baird, Gord Baird, Guy Brisebois, Ken Brotherston, Marie Brotherston, Marcie McLean, Karel Roessingh and Rose Stanton.

Highlands Community Hall, 729 Finlayson Arm Rd., is open to voters from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.

READ MORE: Meet Your Candidates: 9 candidates fighting for 6 seats in Highlands

READ MORE: It’s Election Day in Greater Victoria: Here’s what you need to know about school trustees

READ MORE: 2022 Election Coverage

What happens once polls close?

Polls are open from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m. Once they close, the results will be tallied and released. Check out our website and Facebook page for full coverage of the results once polls close.


Do you have a story tip? Email:

Follow us on Twitter and Instagram, and like us on Facebook.

About the Author: Goldstream News Gazette Staff

Read more