Mandatory winter tire time arrives Oct. 1

Mandatory winter tire time arrives Oct. 1

Restrictions in place on multiple Island routes starting tomorrow

Vancouver Islanders, have you changed your tires yet?

Winter tire regulation come into effect Oct. 1 and remain in effect until April 30 for mountain passes and some rural highways across the Island and the province.

READ MORE: B.C. truck drivers to face higher fines for not using winter tire chains

Drivers traveling on designated routes, including the Malahat portion of the Trans-Canada Highway, Highway 19 from Campbell River to Port Harday, Highway 28 from Campbell River to Gold River, Highway 4 from Parksville to Tofino/Ucluelet, Highway 18 from Duncan to Port Renfrew and Highway 14 from Port Renfrew to Sooke are required to use qualified tires.

There are three types of tires that meet the regulations – all-season, all-weather and winter. They must also have the mountain/snowflake logo or an M+S symbol with a minimum tread depth of 3.5 milimetres.

According to the province, mountain/snowflake tires are best for driving on heavy snow.

Winter driving has a marked effect on road safety, the number of fatal crashes on average doubles in B.C. in December (246 crashes) when compared to October (123), according to a study published by UBC last year.

Failing to have the proper tires equipped can result in a $109 fine. I.C.B.C. also warns that not having the appropriate tires could alter how much you’re considered at fault.

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.